That is The Week That Will Be
Short blog this week I'm afraid as I've a ferry to catch in a few hours. I can't wait though. When I haul myself into the office in Cambridge very early on Monday morning I'll be able to get my hands on a fully set up JIRA - which will be great as I intend to use it to track my technical writing and other documentation tasks (for example, the documentation I manage for other software we produce) in the Agile environment.

Not only that, but I'll be able to start investigating how JIRA and Confluence can interact with each other via the gift of macros. I'll also be up to my eyeballs in meetings about documentation and the way forward - i.e. how we can improve what we're already doing by using more of the inbuilt Confluence functionality.

On Tuesday I'll be on the train down to London to carry out some wiki training with the Marketing Dept, plus we're going to investigate ways of using Confluence to help them with their work. Finally I'm hoping we'll have time to look at how we can hook up our new website with the wiki. So it's very exciting times in terms of getting Confluence out in front of more people, and using it for more business-orientated tasks. 

One of the drawbacks of using a wiki is that people tend to see it as just a place to store and find info - which what it is brilliant at. But it can be much more: how much more I hear you ask? Well, watch this space and we'll see. 


And if all that excitment wasn't enough, I'll be carrying out ad-hoc training all over the office in Cambridge, plus the induction training for new staff in development, testing and support.

Expect a full report soon, just don't expect it to be next Sunday, as I'll be getting up at 04.30 to catch the 0800 ferry back!
Cheers.
7/9/2012 04:34:18 pm

Mick, there's a lot of awesome stuff you can do with JIRA and Confluence together. Be sure to check out these two resources:

http://www.atlassian.com/resources/better-together/jira-confluence

http://www.atlassian.com/software/confluence/overview/jira-users

Reply
Mick
7/10/2012 05:26:31 am

Matt, thanks for the info, the first link is especially interesting for me, but both show the excellent collaboration that both have with each other. I'm keen to find out how I can extract content from Jira that I can use as the basis of new user documentation in Confluence. Watch this space! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.